

CITY OF BEVERLY HILLS

455 NORTH REXFORD DRIVE · BEVERLY HILLS, CALIFORNIA 90210

Lili Bosse, Mayor

August 18, 2022

The Honorable Cristina Garcia California State Assembly, 58th District 1021 O Street, Suite 8140 Sacramento, CA 95814

Re: **AB 1857 (C. Garcia)** Solid Waste City of Beverly Hills – **OPPOSE**

Dear Assemblymember Cristina Garcia,

On behalf of the City of Beverly Hills, I write to inform you that the city must respectfully **OPPOSE your AB 1857**, which repeals the provision of law that allows jurisdictions to count up to 10 percent of the waste sent to transformation toward their 50 percent diversion requirement. This measure also creates the Zero-Waste Equity Grant Program as a competitive grant program to support targeted strategies and investments in communities transitioning to a zero-waste circular economy.

While the City of Beverly Hills supports the legislation's intent to advance zero waste and has been an advocate of legislation that helps the State achieve its emissions reduction goals, we believe AB 1857 does not appropriate the funding to advance the infrastructure and programming necessary to achieve the goals outlined in the legislation, and in the many years—perhaps decades—it would take to get to zero waste in California.

The City is working diligently to develop an organic waste program in compliance with State requirements. These methods have been shown to decrease greenhouse gas emissions by diverting waste from landfills substantially. However, in contrast to these sustainable waste management actions, AB 1857 will directly increase landfilling as the State aims to move towards zero waste. By removing the diversion credit and disincentivizing waste to energy, AB 1857 will undermine one of the only currently available pathways to reduce disposal at landfills by as much as 90 percent, thereby increasing harmful emissions in communities across California.

For these reasons, we respectfully **OPPOSE AB 1857**.

Sincerely,

LaBosse

Lili Bosse, Mayor, City of Beverly Hills

cc: Chair and Members, Senate Committee on Appropriations
The Honorable Ben Allen, Senator 26th District
The Honorable Richard Bloom, Assemblymember, 50th District
Andrew K. Antwih, Shaw Yoder Antwih Schmelzer & Lange